Cookies, cookies and cookies..

ice cream and cookies sandwich

I am trying to cut down on my baking as university is starting and stuff. Today I made chewy chocolate cookies once again. I was craving for something chocolaty and fudgy and I had flour, salt and baking powder combined in a plastic bag from a week ago when I wanted to make these cookies, but then found out that we ran out of cocoa powder. Today I made another mistake which changed the taste of the cookies a bit. Usually I always use the finest baking cocoa powder, but mom had bought another packet that other day; Ecologic cocoa powder. Now, without thinking enough I putted this ecologic cocoa powder into the flour mixture. First thing I noted when I opened the packing was the extremely strong smell of cocoa, something I once experienced with cocoa powder of a cheaper brand that I did put in chocolate cake. But I guess these kind of strong cocoa powders are meant for making hot chocolate only and not for baking. Anyways, the cookies turned out perfectly chewy apart from the strong cocoa taste that ruined them a bit. It is very important to use the finest cocoa powder that is meant for baking when making cakes and cookies or the taste will be ruined.
Half of them I made plain and putted peanuts in the rest of the dough. I had some peanuts and caramel ice cream laying in the freezer, which I used to make a ice cream and cookies sandwich. I love the combination of cookies and ice cream. A nice way to do it is to press ice cream down in a round thing like a 1 deciliter measuring cup and then scrape it out with a knife on the cookies.
Anyways, I made a picture tutorial on the cookies, and converted the recipe to grams and deciliter as it is easier for me. I am posting it here, but for instructions follow the recipe at Annie’s Eat blog.

chewy chocolate cookies

Remember to scrape down the bowl frequently. My mom told me a nice trick to get all the cookies in even size which I wanted to share.
We don’t have these cookies spoons here in Norway, like those ice cream-spoon looking type of spoon that shapes the cookies dough perfectly (I don’t know what they are called?)
Well, the trick is to take small amounts of dough and roll them to balls in even size (works best when the dough is cold). Then put the balls on the tray and they will form into flat even cookies when baked.

Another thing I noticed with this recipe is that it requires for way too much cocoa powder. I mean 150 g / 1,5 dl is like more than half of the whole packet. I cut it down to 50 g cocoa powder, and even that amount gives such a strong cocoa flavor. Anyways, it is upto every individual how strong chocolate taste they want. But if you think it is too much, there is no problem cutting the amount. It does not affect the cookies.
Also, remember to carefully loosen the cookies from the baking sheet with a spatula a few minutes after they have been baked or else they will stick to the paper and it will be difficult to loosen them when they are cooled.
Here is the recipe for those who have problems with american measuring system (cups).

    recipe

Follow the instructions here.

chewy chocolate cookies

Published in: on August 21, 2009 at 11:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tasteofnorway.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/cookies-cookies-and-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

